BPATC Institutional Repository

Bengal gazetteers Feudatory states of Orissa 1910

Show simple item record

dc.contributor.author Ramsay, L. E. B. Cobden
dc.date.accessioned 2019-03-18T07:12:36Z
dc.date.available 2019-03-18T07:12:36Z
dc.date.issued 1910-07-30
dc.identifier.uri http://dspace.bpatc.org.bd/handle/1200/262
dc.description.abstract The Feudatory States of Orissa consist of a group of 24 dependent territories attached to the Division of Orissa, and comprise the following States: Athgarh, Athmallik, Bamra, Baramba, Baud, Bonai, Daspalla, Dhenkanal, Gangpur, Hindol, Kalahandi, Keonjhar, Khandpara, Mayurbhanj, Narsinghpur, Nayagarh, Nilgiri, Pal Lahara, Patna, Rairakhol, Ranpur, Sonpur, Taloher and Tigiria: of these the States of Bamra, Kalahandi, Paftia, Rairakhol and Sonpur were formerly attached to the Chhattisgarh Division of the Central Provinces; Bonai and Gangpur were formerly attached to the Chota Nagpur Division and the remaining States formerly known as the Tributary Mahals formed part of Orissa. They lie between 22° 34' and 19° 2’ N., and 82° 82' and 87° 11' E., and have a population of 3,173,395 and an area of 28,125 square miles. They are bounded on the north by the State of Jashpur in the Central Provinoes, the districts of Ranohi, Singhbhum and Midnapore; on the «ast by the districts of Balasore, Cuttack and Purl; on the south by the districts of Ganjam and Vizagapatam in the Madras Presidency and JIhondmala* (Angul); and on the west by the Raipur district and Rftigarh State of the Central Provinces and the district of *JamWpur in the Bengal Presidency and Yizagapatam district iff the Madras Presidency. en_US
dc.language.iso en en_US
dc.publisher The Bengal Secretariat Book Depot., Calcutta en_US
dc.subject Bengal Gazetteers en_US
dc.title Bengal gazetteers Feudatory states of Orissa 1910 en_US
dc.type Other en_US

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record

Search DSpace


My Account